Secondary Sport

The award season is upon us and it is a time for reminiscing and rejoicing about our successes of 2019.

You don’t measure life by receiving awards.

Mikhail Baryshnikov

Awards are great but you can’t judge your success or failure upon whether you receive one or not.  Awards are that little bonus for a small few that are given to people who are really enjoying what they’re doing.  It is the icing on the cake that was never expected. So, congratulations to our recipients and congratulations to all those who participated and gave 100% for the love of the game.

 Genesis Individual Achievements:

  • Ella Smith for being selected in the Brisbane Lions U16 Academy team and the Brisbane North U17 team for AFL
  • Michael Rixon has again been selected for the Open Mens Clay target shooting team to compete against NZ in the Glenn Trophy in 2020
  • Ian Ballantyne, Kairav Vanmali, Nathan McConville, Izac Craze and Matthew Gregory for being selected in the U13 Pine Rivers District Futsal team
  • Freya Kenny was elected as the vice-captain of the Qld Show Horse Team.  Her efforts at the recent Nationals saw the Qld team win the Team Spirit Trophy for the first time ever
  • Harry Gulliver for making the Brisbane North U13 Cricket team to play in Ballina in January

 Team Sporting Achievements:

 Netball Awards

Year 7:

  • Player of the Season – Maddy Reynolds
  • Most improved – Emma Atkins
  • Spirit of Netball – Ashley Mberi

Year 8:

  • Player of the Season – Jessica Bell
  • Most Improved Player – Charney Swarts
  • Spirit of Netball – Farrah Grecian

Year 9:

  • Player of the Season – Maddy Lamb
  • Most Improved – Millie Taylor
  • Spirit of Netball – Sophie Ditchburn

Year 10:

  • Player of the Season – Tara Walker
  • Most Improved – Chelsea Clegg
  • Spirit of Netball – Taya Mathiesen

Year 11/12:

  • Player of the Season – Lauren Clarke
  • Most improved – Alyssa Postle
  • Spirit of Netball – Candice Collinge

Congratulations to the following students that made the BOSL All Stars team:

  • Emma Atkins
  • Jessica Bell
  • Lauren Clarke
  • Chelsea Clegg
  • Kate Lupton
  • Ashley Mberi

The final placings in BOSL:

  • Year 7 – Second Place
  • Year 8 – Third Place
  • Year 9 – Third Place
  • Year 10 – Seventh Place against all Year 11/12 teams
  • Opens – First Place

 Thank you to Ms Klingberg, Ms Russell and Ms Hird for coaching the teams this year.


Rugby Union 7’s

U13 Boys:

  • Player of the Season – Corey Barker
  • Most Improved Player – Tyron King
  • Spirit of Rugby – Kye Vera

U15 Boys:

  • Player of the Season – Nicholas Wilson
  • Most Improved Player – Ben McGrath
  • Spirit of Rugby – Zachary Coulibaly

Open Boys

  • Player of the Season – Bailey Weatherall
  • Most Improved – Carel Van der Merwe
  • Spirit of Rugby – Schalk Botha

Open Girls

Player of the Season – Jacy Carter

Most Improved –  Jordan Johnson

Spirit of Rugby  – Tamika Smith

Well done to the Open Rugby 7’s Girls who won the Bowl Championships at the recent All Schools Tournament.  A special mention to the below Open Girls that earned their sponsored Jersey by participating in over 80% of the tournaments and practices.

1 Emily McGrath
2 Kylah Hughes
3 Tamika Smith
4 Jade Dethlefs
5 Amy Vorster
6 Maddison Lanyon
7 Jacy Carter
8 Emily Baigrie
9 Charli Jarvis
10 Jordan Johnson
11 Kezia Price
12 Lelani Holden
13 Kathleen Clarke

A special thank you to Mr Walker and Mr Benbow for coaching the teams this year and to Mr Chris Jones from QR Concreting for sponsoring the Open Girls Rugby jerseys.


  Year 12 v Staff – Golden Boot Trophy:

Congratulations to the Staff this year winning 5-1 against the Year 12 students to earn the Golden Boot back in such emphatic fashion with wins in Swimming, Athletics, Basketball, Futsal and Netball.  The staff look forward to winning it again next year hahaha!

Neil Holmes

Director of Sport – Secondary